Training

Training and Taster Days

 

If you’re interested in attending, or hosting, Training Days or Taster Days, please Michael Malley (APEM trainee representative): pemtraininguk@gmail.com or michaelkmalley@gmail.com

Training Days

Regional PEM training days run aiming to cover relevant topics from the level 2 paediatric curriculum and the paediatric emergency medicine curriculum.

Please see the section "News for current PEM trainees" for more details and dates of the London regional training days.

Taster Days

If you're interested in finding out more about PEM as a subspecialty why not organise a taster day and spend some time on the shop floor.

Taster Days Aims

  • To develop an insight into the work of the specialty

  • Promote careers reflection

  • Opportunity to find out what is needed to succeed, progress or enjoy this specialty in terms of skills, attributes and behaviour

What can I do during my Paediatric Emergency Taster Day?

  • Time with senior clinician(s) in the specialty, observing work, discussing careers pathways, future opportunities and work life balance issues.

  • Time with current trainees (of various grades) in the specialty, observing work, discussing what life is like as a trainee in the specialty, work life balance, how their careers choices were made, current and future shift patterns, exams, curricula and entry to specialty.

  • Time with key workers who support the specialty such as Emergency Nurse Practitioners

  • Opportunity to participate in hands on activities under direct supervision

  • Learning about triage, patient flow and departmental performance

  • Observe resuscitation of trauma patients and learn about how trauma centres work

  • Attend departmental teaching, radiology meetings, safeguarding meetings, simulation sessions

How To Organise a Paediatric Emergency Taster Day?

  • Taster Days should be taken during study leave with local agreement or in your own time which would be a good example of your commitment to the specialty if and when you decide to apply!

  • Include some out-of-hours time to ensure you get a true experience of what life in Paediatric ED is really like.

  • For more information on arranging your taster days contact any of the following people:

East Midlands

Nottingham University Hospital

Dr Lynda Walton

lynda.walton@nuh.nhs.uk

North Royal Derby Hospital

Dr Gisela Robinson

Gisela.robinson@nhs.net 

Dr Julia Surridge

Julia.surridge@nhs.net

University Hospitals of Leicester

Dr Ffion Davies

Ffion.davies@uhl-tr.nhs.uk,

Dr Samantha Jones

Samantha.J.Jones@uhl-tr.nhs.uk,

Dr Rachel Rowlands

Rachel.Rowlands@uhl-tr.nhs.uk

London

Chelsea and Westminster

Dr James Ross

james.ross@chelwest.nhs.uk

and Dr Ed Abrahamson

ed.abrahamson@chelwest.nhs.uk

Evelina London, St Thomas' Hospital

Dr John Criddle

john.criddle@gstt.nhs.uk

and Dr Anastasia Alcock

anastasia.alcock@gstt.nhs.uk

Royal London Hospital

Dr Ami Parikh

ami.parikh@bartshealth.nhs.uk

and Dr Simon Walsh

simon.walsh@bartshealth.nhs.uk

St Mary’s Hospital

Dr Rebecca Salter

rebecca.salter@imperial.nhs.uk

University Hospital Lewisham

Dr Tina Sajjanhar

tina.sajjanhar@nhs.net

Kent Surrey Sussex

Royal Alexandra Children's Hospital, Brighton

Dr Emily Walton

emily.walton@bsuh.nhs.uk

Mersey

Alder Hey Children’s Hospital

Dr Julie Grice

julie.grice@alderhey.nhs.uk,

Dr Ravi Massey

ravi.massey@alderhey.nhs.uk

and Dr Matt Rotheram

mattrotheram@nhs.net

Northern

Sunderland Royal Hospital, Great North Children’s Hospital

Dr Siri Gautam

Srijana.Gautam@chsft.nhs.uk

and Dr Myra Hebert

myra.herbert@chsft.nhs.uk

Severn

Bristol Children’s Hospital

Dr Mark Lyttle

mark.lyttle@uhbristol.nhs.uk

West Midlands

Birmingham Children’s Hospital

Dr Tina Newton

tinanewton@nhs.net

Yorkshire and Humber

Sheffield Children's Hospital

Dr Sally Gibbs

Sally.Gibbs@sch.nhs.uk

and Dr Judith Gilchrist

Judith.gilchrist@Sch.nhs.uk

Northern Ireland

Royal Belfast Hospital for Sick Children

Dr Julieann Maney

julieann.maney@belfasttrust.hscni.net

Scotland

Royal Hospital for Sick Children Glasgow

Dr Vince Choudhery

vincent.choudhery@ggc.scot.nhs.uk

Royal Hospital for Sick Children Edinburgh

Dr Paul Leonard

Paul.Leonard@nhslothian.scot.nhs.uk